nissan forums   nissan forums

Go Back   Nissan Forum > Nissan Forums (Nissan Trucks and SUVs) > Nissan Hardbody Forum

Nissan Forum: '96 Hardbody rear end fluid help

Old 12-20-2012, 07:05 AM

Default '96 Hardbody rear end fluid help

Hello,
I have a 4 cylinder '96 Nissan Hardbody Kingcab 2 wheel drive with a 5 speed manual transmission. I have looked through the manual but it doesn't show what fluid to put in the differential and how much to use, or I am missing it. I am the original owner of this truck and I just hit 60K. I am doing some parts of the major service myself to save some money. Any help would be appreciated including anything I should know before doing it myself.

Also, it appears that there is only 1 plug on the differential that is about 1/3 of the way up. Is that right? Does the differential only get filled about 1/3 of it's overall height? Just want to be sure I am not missing something like a plug somewhere else like on top or something. Obviously, I am no mechanic, just a guy with an old truck and not much money.

Thanks!

I added a picture in case that is helpful
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-19_23-07-40_754small.jpg
Views:	484
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	155  

Last edited by ericcellis; 12-20-2012 at 07:16 AM. Reason: added picture

Old 12-20-2012, 02:14 PM

First, I wanted to say I have no clue how to attach pictures like that. Perhaps Chrome doesn't support that feature.

Anyway, there should be a plug on the very bottom to drain the fluid, then fill with new gear oil so that you can reach in there and just touch it with your fingers.

Realistically, this means pour gear oil in until it starts spilling out all over the floor and won't hold any more.

I'm going to come back in here using IE to see if I can attach a pic. Be Right Back!

EDIT: Yeap! Easy Peasy in IE!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	576
Size:	19.2 KB
ID:	156